MCITP Certification

The MCITP Certification exams were retired July 31, 2014 and were replaced with Microsoft’s MCSE Certification 

The MCITP certification makes it easier for IT professionals to gain internationally recognised certifications that display their technical knowledge and skills. The MCITP Certification has a more targeted syllabus framework which makes getting certified a much simpler process versus the old MCP system.

Each MCITP Certification specialization is made up of a number of targeted MCTS exams and a final MCITP exam which brings all your knowledge and skills together resulting in a professional level certification. For instance, to get certified as a MCITP Server Administrator, you must pass two MCTS Exams – 70-640 and 70-642 and also pass one MCITP Exam – 70-646.

How to gain a MCITP Certification

Candidates after a MCITP Certification will generally already have a few years experience with Microsoft Server operating systems. They will then build on their knowledge and skills by enrolling in a training course or if going down the self-study route, buy a few study guides and books. Time to study for a MCITP Certification will vary in length depending on which specialization you are aiming for and how much time you have on your hands.

When the candidate feels adequately ready, they will sit each exam at a MCITP Testing Centre. Exams can be taken in any order, but generally you attain passes in all MCTS Exams then sit the final MCITP Exam. You will receive a MCITP Certificate in the mail after each certification you gain.

MCITP Certification Lifecycle Policy

The new generation of MCITP certifications have a new lifecycle compared to the old certifications.

  • MCTS Certifications will stay valid until Microsoft discontinues mainstream support for the related technology
  • MCITP Certification will require renewing every three years or the certification will lapse.

If you are eager to get certified, first look at purchasing some MCITP books or enrolling in one of many MCITP Training courses. To find out more about each specialization follow the links below.

Windows Client

Windows Server

Microsoft SQL Server

  • MCITP: Database Administrator 2008
  • MCITP: Database Developer 2008
  • MCITP: Business Intelligence Developer 2008

Microsoft Office Project Server

  • MCITP: Enterprise Project Management with Microsoft Office Project Server 2007

Microsoft Exchange Server

  • MCITP: Enterprise Messaging Administrator on Exchange 2010
  • MCITP: Enterprise Messaging Administrator on Exchange 2007

Microsoft SharePoint Server

  • MCITP: SharePoint Administrator 2010

Microsoft Lync Server

  • MCITP: Lync Server Administrator 2010

Need More Information on MCITP Certification?

If you are looking for more information on the MCITP Certification you have come to the right place! Please have a browse through the resources on our website on the links at the top of the page. A good place to start is on the MCSE and MCSA Certification page.