MCSE Certification

The MCSE certification is Microsoft’s expert level certification offering. This globally recognized certification highlights your ability to implement innovative solutions in one of many Microsoft technologies.  Achieving an MCSE certification is usually easily in the grasp of candidates who already have 2-3 years IT experience behind them. The new knowledge learnt during study for these certifications will build on the real-world experience you already have and cover software areas and configuration best practices which you may not have known. The MCSE certification extends on knowledge and skills already gained through the MCSA certification track.

How to gain a MCSE Certification

Each MCSE certification consists of either 4 or 5 exams. If you already hold a MCSA certification you will have already done 2 or 3 of the required exams so will just need to pass a final two exams to gain MCSE status. If you don’t currently hold an MCSA certification, you should begin with one of the MCSA certifications first which will count towards a MCSE certification. Learning and studying for a MCSE can be done with one of many available study guides with cover all exam objectives or by attending a training course at a Microsoft training partner.

MCSE Certification Tracks

  • MCSE: Server Infrastructure
  • MCSE: Desktop Infrastructure
  • MCSE: Private Cloud
  • MCSE: Messaging
  • MCSE: Communication
  • MCSE: SharePoint
  • MCSE: Enterprise Devices and Apps
  • MCSE: Data Platform
  • MCSE: Business Intelligence

MCSE Certification Lifecycle

To keep a MCSE certification valid you must re-certify at least once every three years. Generally, re-certification will only be 1 exam and on the next generation of software. For example, you might have gained a MCSE:Server Infrastructure exam on Windows Server 2008 R2. To keep this valid, you would have to sit an re-certification exam within 3 years and this exam would cover content related to the updated Windows Server 2012 R2.